Call to Order

The regular meeting of the of the Atlantic County Firefighters' Association was called to order at 20:00 on April 18, 2007 at the Atlantic County Fire Training Center by President R. Thomas Hunter Jr.. The meeting was opened with a flag salute followed by an Invocation by the Chaplain of the Association, Reverend Thomas Sweeny. President R. Thomas Hunter Jr. indicated the location of the fire exits. President R. Thomas Hunter welcomed all to the meeting which serves as the sixteenth annual Valor Awards presentation and the second annual Poster Contest Awards presentation.

Opening Remarks and Introduction of Host Chief

The meeting is being hosted by the Atlantic City Fire Department and Chief Dennis Brooks.

In Attendance

Roll call was taken by Secretary Robert A. Mellon who reported a quorum was present.

Dispensing of Business

A motion was made, seconded, and carried to dispense with the regular business for the evening with the exception of the payment of bills.

Bills

A motion was made, seconded, and carried to pay the bills from the proper funds.

Poster Contest Awards and Valor Awards

President R. Thomas Hunter Jr. again welcomed all to the awards presentation. President Hunter introduced guests; including Atlantic County Executive: Dennis Levinson, Atlantic County Freeholder Chairman: Joseph Silipena, Atlantic County Freeholders: Frank Giordano, Joe Kelly, and Frank Sutton, Mayor of Ventnor: Tim Kreisher and Pleasantville Councilwoman: Judy Ward.



The presentation of the 2006-2007 Poster Contest Awards was made by President R. Thomas Hunter Jr. and Harold "Whitey" Swartz.

Poster Contest Winners:

Grand Prize - Bredden Banegas, Pleasantville Middle School

Division #1 - Vanessa Mathieu, Pleasantville North Main St. School

Division #2 - Keila Nieves, Pleasantville North Main St. School

Division #4 - Michelle Workman, Oakcrest High School

Division #6 - Mazziah Young, Pleasantville North Main St. School

Valor Awards Committee Chairman Harold "Whitey" Swartz and President R. Thomas Hunter Jr. presented each of the Valor Award recipients with their awards from the Atlantic County Firefighters' Association. This is the sixteenth year of the Valor Awards presentation.

Valor Awards Recipients:

Meritorious Valor Award - Chief Anthony Monfredo, Richland Fire Dept.

Top Valor Award - Lt. Kevin Howarth, Ventnor Fire Dept.

A narration of the actions performed by the recipients was given. The award recipients were also presented with Congressional, State of New Jersey, and Atlantic County Certificates of Appreciation.

Good of the Order

Lt. Howarth of the Ventnor Fire Dept. wanted to urge everyone to support a drive to petition the ABC's "Extreme Home Makeover" TV show to assist Maureen with the remodeling of her home.

Ventnor Mayor Tim Kriesher, along with Commissioner Joseph Schafer and Fire Chief Bert Sabo, presented to President R. Thomas Hunter, and the Atlantic County Firefighters' Association, the keys to Ventnor's retired ladder truck for use at the training center. President Hunter thanked the Ventnor representatives for the donation of the ladder truck.



Adjournment

There being no further business at hand, the meeting and awards presentation was adjourned at 20:40. The next regular meeting is scheduled to be held at 20:00 on May 16, 2007 in South Egg Harbor.

Attested:

Robert A. Mellon, Secretary

Date Clearing

Sat. Apr. 21	19:00	Cologne	Dinner / Comedy Show
Sat. Apr. 28		Cologne	Giant Yard Sale
Sat. May 5	16:00	Germania	Turkey Dinner
Sat. Jun. 2	12:00	Cologne	Chicken Barbecue
Sat. Aug. 11	12:00	Somers Point #1	$100^{th}\ Anniversary\ and\ Housing\ 09:00\ Reg.\ \&\ 12:00\ Parade$
Sat. Sept. 22	09:00	Cologne	Home Party Expo
Sat. Oct. 6	16:00	Germania	Turkey Dinner
Sat. Nov. 3	09:00	Cologne	Craft Fair
Sat. Nov. 10	16:00	Oceanville	Ham & Oyster Dinner

- A Fireman's Prayer -

Please bless with your protecting hand Give me strength to save some life To guard my every neighbor and When I am called to duty, God Help me embrace a little child Or save an older person from And hear the weakest shout Wherever flames may rage, And if according to my fate My children and my spouse. I want to fill my calling and And quickly and efficiently The horror of that fate. To give the best in me, Enable me to be alert I have to lose my life, Whatever be its age. Protect his property. Before it is too late To put the fire out.

Amen.

16TH ANNUAL FIREFIGHTER'S VALOR AWARDS



April 18, 2007
Anthony "Tony" Canale Training Center
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey

ATLANTIC COUNTY

2006 Valor Awards Presentation Firefighters Association April 18, 2007

2nd Vice President 1st Vice President Fire Marshal Treasurer President Secretary Chaplain

R. Thomas Hunter, Jr. Dennis Sharpe

Robert A. Mellon Charles Kisby Lou Raciti

H.J. "Whitey" Swartz Thomas Sweeny

Flag Salute

Invocation

Thomas Sweeny, Chaplain

Welcome

R. Thomas Hunter Jr., President

2006-2007 Poster Contest Awards

Valor Awards

R. Thomas Hunter

Firefighter's Association Poster Contest Winners

Grand Prize Winner: Bredden Banegas, Pleasantville Middle School Div. #1: Vanessa Mathieu, Pleasantville North Main St. School

Div. #2. Keila Nieves, Pleasantville North Main St. School

Div. #4: Michelle Workman, Oakcrest High School

Div. #6: Mazziah Young, Pleasantville North Main St. School

Valor Awards

Meritorious Award:

Chief Anthony Monfredo, Richland Fire Dept.

Lt. Kevin Howarth Top Valor:

Ventnor Fire Dept.

Atlantic County Firefighters Valor Awards Program

was organized in 1991 to honor emergency personel and The Atlantic County Firefighters Valor Awards Program civilians who risked their lives to save others. This program is compiled of five categories. The top award is Meritorious Awards are given for recognition in performance chosen from the best of the First Class Awards. First Class of duty where a life may be saved. A Unit Citation is give to Second Class Awards are given for a less personal risk. Awards are given for extreme risk in making a rescue. a group, working together in making a rescue.

one hundred and fifty-nine recipients, which includes fire, police, medical personnel and civilians. This year we will Since this program has been initiated, we have honored be honoring two fireman.

Atlantic County Firefighters Association Valor Awards Committee

- Chairman: Whitey Swartz, County Fire Marshal
- Co-Chairman: Ret. Capt. Robert Van Dyke, Atlantic City FD
 - Chief Thomas Sweeny, Cardiff Fire Co.
- Deputy Chief Michael Corbo, Pleasantville Fire Dept.
- Ret. Chief Howard Berchtold, South Egg Harbor Fire Co.
- Chief Rick Coraluzzo, Landisville Fire Co.
- Ret. Chief R. Thomas Hunter, Absecon Fire Dept.
 - Ret. Chief Oscar Dutch, Absecon Fire Dept.
- Ret. Battalion Chief Levon Clayton, Atlantic City FD. Ret. Chief Charles Guenther, Pomona Fire Co.